Rosemary Griggs banner

My Reviews

Write a review

Book review - A Woman of Noble Wit - I highly recommend this

Feb. 13, 2022, 12:49 p.m. A review for 'A Woman of Noble Wit', by Amy McElroy

A joy to read I am truly looking forward to seeing what comes next from Rosemary Griggs.

Katherine-Kate Raleigh née Champernowne was the mother of Sir Walter Raleigh and wife to Walter Raleigh senior. She was also the sister of Elizabeth’s governess Kat Champernowne.

A Woman of Noble Wit is her story, set in Devon. Katherine lived through four monarchs and saw her son rise to be a favourite of Elizabeth although passed before his execution.

This book not only tells her story but life during the Tudor dynasty, war, sickness and religion all played a part in peoples lives.
Katherine was well educated and made it her mission to ensure her children were too.
Her sons including Walter …


A Woman of Noble Wit

Feb. 7, 2022, 4:35 p.m. A review for 'A Woman of Noble Wit', by Hailstones via Goodreads

This book has it all

A fascinating fictional version of the life of Katherine Gilbert, then Raleigh. Mother to Sir Walter Raleigh.
A grim first marriage to a weedy sounding social climber, Katherine was forced to start a family when very young, against her dear father's wishes and conditions of the pairing. She was a noblewoman however and fulfilled her duty to her horrible husband. A dark haired man on board the Trinity during her first sea voyage caught her eye, and her heart and that yearning lasted for years until one day, the awful husband expired and she was free to marry again. The …


An interesting read

Feb. 2, 2022, 5:09 p.m. A review for 'A Woman of Noble Wit', by amazon reviewer

An interesting read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 February 2022
As I live in Devon I enjoy historical novels set in this beautiful county, especial if the characters are people I know little about. The research for this novel seemed well done, with excellent description of locations.

A debut novel, I did feel that perhaps a thorough technical edit could have polished a few areas where the narrative slipped away a little, but on the whole, an interesting read.

Original review: 2 February 2022
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/customer-reviews/R2YHD36FVJT9R2/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B09FLVZKSK


Highly recommended!

Jan. 30, 2022, 11:30 a.m. A review for 'A Woman of Noble Wit', by Christine

.........The author has created a compelling woman with a strong feeling of loyalty towards her family. ........well embedded in historical events of the time

A well-written and interesting novel! We all know the name of Walter Raleigh, an explorer under Elizabeth I 's reign. What about his mother?

A Woman of Noble Wit, by Rosemary Griggs.

Not much is known about Katherine, Walter's mother. The author has created a compelling woman with a strong feeling of loyalty towards her family. However, this did not come at a cheap price! .....
I enjoyed this novel very much, as it is well embedded in historical events of the time, her family, the religious conflicts, life of privateers (or were they pirates?), all meticulously researched. Evocative descriptions of …


Fantastic piece of historical fiction

Jan. 24, 2022, 1 p.m. A review for 'A Woman of Noble Wit', by Alice Abrahams

I loved the way the meticulous historical accuracy and Devon landscape provided a backdrop to the well imaged story

5.0 out of 5 stars

I loved the way the meticulous historical accuracy and Devon landscape provided a backdrop to the well imaged story of our heroine Katherine-Kate. I particularly like reference to her jail visit giving us some idea of what kind of morals and views she may have held.

Original review
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/customer-reviews/R3845EAIBV4JBB/ref=cm_cr_dp_d_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=1800464592
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 January 2022
Verified Purchase